info@thevalleyofflowers.com

+91 7290 024 809 , +91 7290 024 810

Projects worth Rs 24.50 crore approved for Nanda Devi Biosphere Reserve

Posted on May 17 2018 | by: admin | Comments : 0

In a state-level meeting of Nanda Devi Biosphere, chief secretary Utpal Kumar approved Rs 24.50 crore for works to be executed in the next five years in the reserve. Setting up bio-digester toilets on trek route of Valley of flowers and repair of routes leading to Badrinath are among some prominent projects.
The reserve, spread over 5,860.69 sq km, has a special significance in terms of biodiversity. In 2005, the reserve was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Self-employment opportunities and the basic infrastructure are being provided to the villagers who stay on the outskirts of the biosphere. A controlled community-based tourism has been developed in the reserve.
The biosphere has two core zones stretching across 624.62 sq km and Valley of Flower spread over 87.50 square km. There are over 1,000 species of plants, 520 species of creatures, 229 species of birds, 200 species of insects, in the biosphere.
Sources said, “Setting up bio-digester toilets on trek route of valley of flowers, repair of routes leading to Badrinath and better facilities on the trek and mountaineering route were among the major works included under the approved amount.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enquiry

Flowers

Aconitum Violaceum

Aconitum Violaceum

Can be found between Govindghat and Ghangaria.

allium humile

Allium Humile

It is found near the streams in the Valley of Flowers, especially in June month. You ca see its colonies near Pushpawati River Bed

FIND US ON FACEBOOK

VOF Departures date 2017

  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Saturday, July 01, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017
  • Saturday, August 05, 2017
  • Sunday, August 06, 2017
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017
  • Sunday, September 03, 2017
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017

Photo Gallery