info@thevalleyofflowers.com

+91 7290 024 809 , +91 7290 024 810

Trek info

Valley of Flowers Trek 2017: Total Distance in Kilometers That Have to be Covered

A common question is raised by many trekkers as to how many kilometers they ought to cover on the valley of flowers Trek 2017. They always enquire about the total distance trekked on each day and options left with the trekkers countering the mode of trekking.

From Govindghat, the Valley of Flowers Trek 2017 takes on around 4 days to complete wherein a trekker need to cover an approximate distance of 50-55 km in those 4 days. Of course, there are several options to do trekking including by foot, by ponies, porters or through helicopter.


Valley of Flowers Trek 2017
Here is the detailed explanation about the trek:

Day 1: Govindghat to Ghangaria

Altitude to Govindghat: 5500 feet (Approximate 1676m)
Altitude to Ghangaria: 10200 feet (Approximate 3110m).
Total time covered in trek- approximate 8-10 hours.
A total of around 4700 feet altitude difference lies within Govindghat and Ghangaria that has to be covered by trekking.

Options to skip trekking, if any: Yes, there are options to skip trekking. In case, you are not comfortable with carrying on the trek on foot, you can easily hire ponies available between Govindghat and Ghangaria. Other choices are hiring helicopter or porters. However, helicopter choice can only be beneficial if the weather conditions are fine.

Day 2: Trek to Valley of Flowers: From Ghangaria to Valley of Flowers and Return to Ghangaria

Altitude to Ghangaria: 10200 feet.
Altitude to Valley of Flowers: lies within 11500 feet to 10500 feet.
Total Time Covered in Trek: The trek begins at 7 am in the morning and exit is allowed by 5 pm.
You can easily trek around 3-8 km in a day in the valley following the beautiful sightseeing. The trek is little steeper and wholesome flat. After reaching 3.5 km distance, you can find the flat route.

Inside the valley, ponies are not allowed. However, you can hire porters or palanquins. Remember, while hiring them, you have to pay their entry fees into the valley too along with their hiring charges.

Day 3: Trek to Valley of Flowers: Ghangaria to Hemkund Sahib and Return to Ghangaria

Altitude to Ghangaria: 10200 feet.
Altitude to Hemkund Sahib: 14000 feet.
Distance to be covered: From one side it’s 6km.
On the third day, you will be heading towards Hemkund Sahib that carries a steep trek and of course, its high altitude makes it little more difficult. Thus, it is advisable to hire pony to move uphill. It’s easy to return back by foot. Apart from ponies, no other choice is available as Helicopters are hard to make available.

Day 4: Valley of Flowers Trek: Return From Ghangaria to Govindghat

Altitude to Ghangaria: 10200 feet.
Altitude to Govindghat: 5200 feet.
Time covered: 4-5 hours by trekking and around 3 hours by pony.
It is just the reversal trek from Ghangaria to Govindghat. It can easily be covered by trekking. If you wish to save some time and want to visit Badrinath in the evening, you can hire a pony.

Guest Speak

Enquiry

Latest Blog

Flowers

Aconitum Violaceum

Aconitum Violaceum

Can be found between Govindghat and Ghangaria.

allium humile

Allium Humile

It is found near the streams in the Valley of Flowers, especially in June month. You ca see its colonies near Pushpawati River Bed

FIND US ON FACEBOOK

VOF Departures date 2017

  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Saturday, July 01, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017
  • Saturday, August 05, 2017
  • Sunday, August 06, 2017
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017
  • Sunday, September 03, 2017
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017